What is the Scottish Parliament?

The Scottish Parliament is the parliament of Scotland.

The Scottish Parliament is a devolved Parliament.

That means it does not look after all things but only certain things like health and education.

The Scottish Parliament is sometimes called Holyrood.

This is because it is built in the Holyrood area of Edinburgh.

Politicians in the Scottish Parliament are called Members of the Scottish Parliament or MSPs for short.

There are 129 MSPs in the Parliament from different parties.

Every voter gets 2 votes in Scottish Parliament elections.

Vote 1 is for constituency MSPs who speak for the local area.

The voting card shows the names of all the candidates for the constituency.

Vote 2 is for regional MSPs who will speak for the local region. They are sometimes called ‘list’ MSPs.

The voting card shows the names of all the parties for the region.